November 29, 2012

Harrington Receives an “A” for Safety In a Nationwide Survey of Hospitals

SOUTHBRIDGE, Mass., November 29, 2012 - Harrington Hospital has been honored with an "A" Hospital Safety Score by The Leapfrog Group, an independent national nonprofit run by employers and other large purchasers of health benefits. The A score was awarded in the latest update to the Hospital Safety Score, the A, B, C, D or F scores assigned to U.S. hospitals based on preventable medical errors, injuries, accidents, and infections.

The Hospital Safety Score was compiled under the guidance of the nation's leading experts on patient safety and is designed to give the public information they can use to protect themselves and their families. Harrington also won an "A" grade in a survey of the nation's hospitals published by The Leapfrog Group six months ago.

"We work every day at Harrington to give our patients the safest possible environment," said Harrington President and CEO Edward H. Moore. "We are very pleased to be recognized by The Leapfrog Group as an A-rated hospital."

Kathleen Davis, Vice President of Quality and Patient Safety at Harrington, said, "Patient safety is everyone's job at Harrington. We all work diligently to make sure that the environment is safe for our patients. We strive to deliver TLC -- Total Local Care -- and that begins with making sure we give the safest care possible to our patients."

"Hospitals like this that earn an A have demonstrated their commitment to their patients and their community," said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. "I congratulate Harrington Hospital for its safety excellence, and look forward to the day when all hospitals will match this standard."

Calculated under the guidance of The Leapfrog Group's nine-member Blue Ribbon Expert Panel, the Hospital Safety Score uses 26 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to produce a single score representing a hospital's overall capacity to keep patients safe from infections, injuries, and medical and medication errors. The panel includes: John Birkmeyer (University of Michigan), Ashish Jha (Harvard University), Lucian Leape (Harvard University), Arnold Millstein (Stanford University), Peter Pronovost (Johns Hopkins University), Patrick Romano (University of California, Davis), Sara Singer (Harvard University), Tim Vogus (Vanderbilt University), and Robert Wachter (University of California, San Francisco).

About The Leapfrog Group
The Leapfrog Group ( is a national nonprofit organization using the collective leverage of large purchasers of health care to initiate breakthrough improvements in the safety, quality, and affordability of health care for Americans. The flagship Leapfrog Hospital Survey allows purchasers to structure their contracts and purchasing to reward the highest performing hospitals. The Leapfrog Group was founded in November 2000 with support from the Business Roundtable and national funders, and is now independently operated with support from its purchaser and other members.