View current ER Wait Times

November 30, 2018
Harrington Names 2018 Providers of the Year

SOUTHBRIDGE, MA, November 30, 2018 – Harrington HealthCare System crowned its 2018 Providers of the Year at a recent celebration at The Barn at Wight Farm in Sturbridge.

This year, Gynecologist/Urogynecology Dr. Christine Carey and Family Medicine Nurse Practitioner Kim Vetal won the distinguished honor following open nominations in October.

The Provider of the Year award has been given annually since 2011. This is the first year the healthcare system has given two awards – one for a physician and one for an advanced practice practitioner.


The 2018 Harrington Providers of the Year are, left: Christine Carey, MD, FACOG, Gynecology/Urogynecology (with husband, Ed) and, right: Kim Vetal, NP, Family Medicine (second from left, with Medical Staff President Dr. Frank Powers, Harrington President and CEO Ed Moore and Chief Medical Officer Dr. Art Russo).

Christine Carey, MD, FACOG, has been a women’s health provider at Harrington Hospital for 22 years. She joined Harrington Physician Services in 2009. She currently practices Gynecology and Urogynecology in Suite G05 on the Southbridge campus alongside Drs. Mark Simonelli, Kirti Patel and NP Maryanne Vogel.

Dr. Chris Carey was also the recipient of the Worcester Telegram Best of Central Mass Physician of the Year Award, successfully earning more votes than four other local physicians. She was honored at a celebration at the DCU Center which occurred the night after Harrington’s.

Kim Vetal, NP, began working in Brimfield as a family medicine practitioner in 2003, later joining Harrington Physician Services. She currently works alongside Drs. Ruth Benet, Shannon Short-Graley, James Goodwin, and NP Kristine Roth.

All members of Harrington’s community — volunteers, Board members, patients, employees or other Medical Staff — were eligible to nominate an MD, DO, NP or PA. The nomination form required a description of how the provider exemplified the values and characteristics of the award, which include being caring, collegial, safe, cooperative, flexible, available and reliable.

The winner is selected by a committee made up of the Chief Medical Officer, the Medical Staff President, the Chief Executive Officer, and previous years’ winners: Dr. Paul Santolucito, Dr. Paul Harrington, Dr. John Tumolo, Dr. Tina Render, Dr. Talal Bou-Harb, Dr. Issam Oneyssiand Dr. Giza High.

In total, 32 physicians and 19 advanced practitioners from Harrington’s medical staff were nominated for the award.